Monday, May 14, 2018 - 9:53am
Hailey Elizabeth Clark and John Christopher Sugar

Two biochemistry and molecular biology students received departmental awards as a result of their academic and research endeavors during their undergraduate studies.

Taking the BMB Faculty Award for Academic Excellence was Hailey Elizabeth Clark, who earned a 4.0 GPA with two majors: biochemistry and molecular biology, and economics. The BMB Faculty Award for Research Excellence was awarded to John Christopher Sugar, who performed his undergraduate independent research in the lab of professor Mike Adams.

The two were honored at a departmental graduation ceremony, and both received a $300 cash prize. This year's awards were made possible by professor emeritus Dan DerVartanian.